Steam Breakthrough

Been researching new ways to add steam games to GameManager and I found a text file that lists all installed steam games so the next version of GM will feature auto add of all steam games unlike the current version.
Also preliminary sketches of the new interface of Database manager have been completed, now I just have to program it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Steam Breakthrough

  1. Jonatan says:

    Hi, I really love this project. I’m going to build a pc dedicated to gaming and this seems perfect for it. Being an avid adventure gamer I use Scummvm a lot, would it be possible to implement support for it? For instance, automatic download of the latest daily build and such? Also, is it possible to automatically export the games database to an external HD in case of desktop crashes or if you need to reinstall or update the manager?

    Thanx

    Jonatan

  2. Hi Jonatan and thanks for your comment.
    I may be able to look at ScummVM and implement it, but I am just one man and there is a lot of features higher up on the list atm so I can’t promise anything. I like the idea about export and that will definitely be added to the next version, but for now you can make backups by copying the ‘Games’ folder in the main GameManager Folder.

  3. Jonatan says:

    Wow, that was quick πŸ™‚ Thank you for the swift reply! I figured it would not be a priority to implement such a feature, but planting the seed of the idea was just to tempting. I’m glad you like the idea of automated database backups, knowing you had such a possibility would make me much less hesitant about using this program and easier to update it in the future. Another quick question(probably dumb but I haven’t had a chance to test the program yet), is it possible to use your own box art for each game(like a file you already have) and not just search for it online? Where do you pull the game info from online? Mobygames? I love the screenshot functionality, capturing video with support from Fraps or similar would also be nice, though I figure that is also low on the list of priorities right now πŸ™‚

  4. Hi,
    I’ve looked into video capture and its not feasible to implement it, I may be able to add a fraps plugin or something though. Games are pulled from http://thegamesdb.net (Moby and other databases wont give me rights to use their databases but thegamesdb is a brilliant database and site and anyone can use it) and if you want to manually add art it can’t be done via the interface (I’m adding that into the next version) but you can navigate to GameManager folder and manually replace the files under the games folder.

  5. Jonatan says:

    Great, thanx again for the reply, I’ll be keeping a keen eye on this. Once you’ve settled on an engine, a Check for updates feature for the Game Manager itself would be sweet, but I guess that would require more dedicated serverspace.

    Keep up the great work, I have been looking for something like this for ages! Happy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

